World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth
2018-08-14

Reviews and analysis of World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth

4.5/5.00 - based on 156 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
3.00/5.00 March 27, 2017

World of Warcraft PC Game

The World of Warcraft PC game has wonderful introductory graphics, which out-shine the graphics in the game itself. Access to this multi-user game requires monthly subscription fees that are not disclosed during purchase, and are not discovered until the game is installed and an attempt to play prompt the payment alert. The use of the PC mouse must be supplemented by use of the keyboard arrow keys in order to navigate the locations in the game. These functions leave much to be desired in terms of efficiency, speed and accuracy. Add-on modules are no longer used by the currently upgraded game, despite their widespread sale across many markets. According to the game's support department, previous modules have been integrated into the current upgraded game. This review only addresses the game in levels lower than 10, at which point the game states that everything will be enhanced and improved. For enthusiast with lots of free time (and resources) World of Warcraft might be appealing. For those who anticipate a graphic single-player adventure game, with lots of actions and reactions, other game might be more appealing. Despite the ubiquitous playing of this game, it can only be recommended to a very select group of gamers; particularly those who don't mind tedium.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 June 18, 2016

A Role Player's Dream!

Already having an active Blizzard Account working for World of Warcraft, this worked just perfect for me to upgrade the game from the Mists of Pandaria Expansion status. As a note, I had first worked the game as an Online Subscription without any Discs, then to MoP with discs and finally to WoD on discs. For those of you who have never played World of Warcraft, know that what is most important is obtaining an online account with Blizzard (The company that makes WoW) and Maintaining Upgraded Status with it. Having Discs is not is super important but keep in mind WoW is a Massive Game Environment requiring many GBs of Installation. For most of you with a Cable ISP allowing Unlimited Bandwidth installation is no problem. For less than that, installation can be almost impossible. Discs are best so you don't have to download all that stuff. WoW can be had in many versions and fully playable. The various expansions gain you access to more content, especially at higher levels. The current standard is up to the Warlords of Draenor Expansion until the Legion Expansion takes over in August 2016. Most earlier expansion sets needed the earlier versions already installed on your computer for your expansion to work. This set can install the whole game fresh - That avoids a gigantic headache!This is a great way for a new player to start out. Patching the versions together from the original (Vanilla) on up is a nightmare you need to avoid. Once your settled in, it'll be easy to add Legion by simply downloading it from Blizzard. Sound complicated? Don't Worry: Just get this and install it and you'll be fine. Now, I'm an old Role Playing Fan since the 1990's when the games were so limited and simple but still fun. And I wished for a vast game that just kept going on forever. The basics of these games are always the same: You Maximize your Character's Strengths level by level, upgrade the weaponry and armor when you can and explore everything. When I finally migrated to World of Warcraft, it wasn't just the massive content that surprised me - It was the various nature of that vast content that blew me away. Fighting and exploring is expected but... Well, You Name It: Developing traditional occupations like Blacksmithing, Tailoring, etc., Pet Battling, Playing Fairground Games, Raiding separate Dungeons, Group Player Vs. Player Battlegrounds, Honing Riding Skills including Flying and Underwater Mounts, Trading at Auction Houses, Mailing Items to your Friends or other characters... or just relaxing with a cold drink while fishing at the nearest pond. And that's just thetip of the iceberg! So, World of Warcraft isn't just a game: It's many different types of games embedded within the gaming system called WoW. There's bound to be something that tickles your fancy here, so intend to invest a lot of time else stay away. As for Kids: Parents, please don't blame Blizzard for creating a bad environment for them. You may think I'm crazy for saying this but it's great for engaging young thinkers, Believe it or not. This is a Problem Solving Game. It forces you to think your way from one situation to the next. Don't use your head and you won't get anywhere. Sure there's stylized violence inferred (It's Swords and Sorcery after all) but the emphasis is mostly on humor and the violence is downplayed - not very graphic. It's actually quite cute in many ways. I think WoW would be the perfect gaming environment for kids except for one thing: The Lame-Brain Adult Players who don't care what they say in the Chat Functions or who may see it. They are the real problem! Wish I knew how to solve that. Have a responsible adult form Special Guilds (Official Groups) for them so that the kids can play together away from the nasty adults. Chat can't be avoided but at least video and pictures aren't exchanged. Our kids deal with far worse than WoW! So, if Role Playing is your thing (Maybe only during Halloween) this is your game. You won't need any others! And Ladies, Please don't shy away. You need to unleash your inner She-Ra every now and then too. Please replace the guys playing gals! (Although I do it too... The Females just look better when beating something down, right?).

  • Share


3.00/5.00 May 8, 2015

The game really deserves a 5 star rating... but for me it drops 2 stars due to a sense of the game getting extremely stale. The game is still incredibly fun but there just isn't the same level of player interaction as their used to be. Looking for Raid(LFR) option is a dumbed down version of the actual raids and practically hands out epic gear like it's candy. You can literally ignore 95% of all boss mechanics in LFR, which removes any sense of accomplishment when you finally down that boss and EARN your gear. That being said, the raids are incredibly fun, and the same can be said with the 5 man dungeons.. both regular and heroic. Leveling from 90-100 is a genuinely fun experience with a great storyline. Like I mentioned before the game has gotten stale, we are stuck doing new and updated raids, grinding out whatever faction you need or grinding for whatever you need. This isn't a World of Warcraft problem, it's a problem with all MMORPG's nowadays. If you've never played World of Warcraft, I highly encourage you to give it a shot, you'll love it.. if you're a veteran on the fence, play it for the story and for a few raids, they are all fun but just not for me anymore.

  • Share


2.00/5.00 October 4, 2015

Wow has lost it's edge and has declined in game play ability. I found myself buying the expansion with high expectations and being sourly disappointed. I keep going back to wow and leaving this has been going on since about Cataclysm for me. They keep nerfing the game to the point that it's no longer fun to even try to play. The stats of all char's have been dropped drastically, the abilities have been altered and some fun abilities even removed. I was very upset when they took away the old tallent tree's and turned it into a pick one of three options every 15ish levels. They dumbed things down and I honestly see no point in spending any more money on blizzard.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 January 27, 2015

Three awesome and very rare in-game pets, Three feats of Strength. BOOYAHH.

The original vanilla collector edition is cool since it gives background information on the making of WoW with the behind the scenes dvd and art book. The main part of this which is awesome is the three in-game pets, Mini-Diablo, Zergling and Panda Cub. You also get a feat of strength with learning each pet, so three feats of strength. These are very rare and catch people's attention when they see them. Mini-Diablo has a title "Lord of Terror" under his name which is cool. The zergling also will fight to the death with the grunty space marine murloc pet from the 2009 blizzcon. Zergling is melee and grunty is ranged so if the zergling is close enough he will kill grunty pretty much 100% of the time and at a distance grunt likewise will kill the zergling pretty much 100% of the time. The zergling just splats and goes away however the grunty explodes in green goo before going away. These fighting are very entertaining btw.

  • Share


2.00/5.00 October 8, 2015

In short: Blizzard has done better, and they've all but outright admitted that this was a filler expansion. Save your money and wait for this to go on sale. They usually go for half off or better around Christmas. Do NOT pay full price for this expansion.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 September 3, 2016

The game that started it all. Back in 2004, this game was released and I have been playing it since about 2005. This game is an integral part of my life. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good time. I have made many lifelong friendships because of this game. I am fairly positive if you buy the base game nowadays, you are also granted access to all of the expansions except the newest one. That means you can get right into the action and fall in love with the land, creatures, people, and magic that Azeroth has to offer. I know I did, and I am not sure who I would be today without this wonderful game. Although it may have a bad rap, I definitely think everyone should try it at least once in their life.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 February 17, 2015

If it's in stock get it!

This is an updated version of WoW that combines the old Warcraft (version 1) with the new expansion (Draenor). They are working on changing the art and adding a bunch of new bells and whistles.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 February 25, 2011

World of Warcraft is Amazing!

First and foremost this game is a milestone in the both the MMORPG and online gaming industry. With over 11 million subscribers, it's the largest online game to date, and for good reason. The graphics, while cartoonish, indulge you in a moving work of art with flowing waterfalls, freezing tundras, and shadow-ridden caves. The world itself is simply huge (though surprisingly easy to navigate), spanning across four continents (one in outer space), and leaves the gamer with an unparalleled sense of citizenship. Once you log into World of Warcraft, you truly plug into a hidden universe. The music is truly worthy of mention. When you first launch the game, you are met with a symphony of heart-pounding drums, violins, bassoons, or what-have-you. The music/ambience then changes frequently throughout the game depending upon your current location and really adds an element of class to the experiences of stepping into a haunted mine, or riding up to the gates of a citadel. The gameplay ranges from simple to slightly complicated depending upon your class selection, but always maintains the smooth controls that are oh-so-user-friendly. You can select from 9 different classes at the start (another is available further on in the game), each of which have their own roles to fulfill by either Healing, Tanking (taking the hits for other less-hardy classes), or DPSing (DPS: Damage per second, a term used to explain classes adept at dealing damage). Also with the introduction of "dual-spec," a character is able to switch between two customizable talent builds (determines your main role: healing/tanking/dps, through the selection certain talents) at the drop of a hat. The most basic gameplay consists of leveling your character from 1 to 80 via the completion of quests, invading of dungeons, and slaying of monsters, all of which grant "experience," and move you closer to the next level. If you grow wary leveling, it is possible to "que" into a battleground from anywhere in the world. There are four different types of battle: capture the flag, protect the resources, defend/attack the keep, and control the territory. You compete against real players controlling real characters on different computers, which is typically referred to as "PVP," or player versus player. Once you have reached the maximum level, the fun has just begun. You will continue advancing your character by upgrading his or her equipment (or "gear"). Raids, dungeons and "heroics" offer thousands of powerful monsters that, when killed, give weapons and armor that strengthen your character. Dungeons and heroics are typically conquered by five players effectively working together to defeat the obstacles and creatures within. Raids follow a different suit, requiring 10 to 25 skilled players able to communicate and coordinate themselves in order to (hopefully) kill the most difficult monsters in the game. Another option to the post-leveling stage (or "end game content") is coordinated PVP. Beside the four available battlegrounds, the game contains four "arena" maps offering extremely competitive play in the form of 2v2, 3v3, or 5v5. If you are successful, the rewards are some of the most powerful upgrades in the game. Guilds, world events, seasonal events, mounts, professions, mini-games, parties, transportation and real-time economies are just a few more of the many other unnamed aspects to this game. Some things are simply best if discovered.

  • Share


4.00/5.00 December 11, 2015

I like this game and this expansion. The last expansion that I played prior to this one was Wrath of the Lich King. I loved playing this game back then, but I didn't always have hours to play to have fun and do things. With the addition of the garrisons and various other factors such as queuing for dungeons or raids, it has become easier to play and have fun within a more reasonable amount of time. The drawback is that the game seems a bit less social, but it's much easier to survive alone, meaning you don't have to rely on the grace of friends to help you out when you're just starting. Now you can pretty much fly through without a guild or a problem, which is nice to a certain degree. Also, I do like the level 90 character boost! That was a great addition.

  • Share


4.00/5.00 September 14, 2018

WoW returns

Pros: It’s the WoW that you know and love. Lots of quests. Takes up time on boring evenings and makes you feel like you’re getting stuff done. For those returning from long ago you can auto lvl a toon to 110. This way it’s easier to jump into the new content.

  • Share


1.00/5.00 February 20, 2019

If you are a returning player, don't bother

I bought it to check out the new races, only to redeem the code, and buy a new sub, to find out that I can't. You have to do weeks/months of grinding just to be able to start a new level 20 that is just a palate swap of existing races. This is for all those people that thought pandas were the low point. They weren't. Not even close. If this is their idea of "new content", they are done. This should have been a free patch, not a $50 expansion, with this absurd unlock structure.

  • Share


3.00/5.00 August 22, 2019

Meh...

This expansion is just okay. The maps are exceedingly irritating to navigate and the content is lack luster. The devs are making no real attempts to cover the fact that they are just collecting a paycheck and going through the motions. The formula is as follows:

  • Share


3.00/5.00 August 25, 2019

Code already redeemed

Purchased a copy of this from Target at Cypress, TX. The box was not wrapped in shrink wrap but the box appeared sealed. Asked the guy to sign the receipt in case the code was already used. Sure enough, drove all the way home to find out it was already used. Really frustrating - the codes should be under scratch-off wax so you can easily tell if it's been scratched off. Going to buy online codes from now on.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 October 27, 2018

Favorite Expansion since Burning Crusade

I've put so many hours into this expansion. The new zones are some of the best ever, and the most graphically intensive and unique. I came back "For the Horde!" and I've enjoyed a ton of time both alone and with friends adventuring the new dungeons/raids/zones.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 March 5, 2017

I actually was introduced to this game by my husband. Must I add, I was not into any type of video game/pc game at all. That was 5 years ago. Now I play this game on my own and am enjoying Legion better. I started off in Mists of Pandaria which I loved because of the Pandarians lol. They're pandas if you didn't catch that. But, I was a panda combat rogue, now I'm prestige 6 fire mage. This is definitely a fun game.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 November 17, 2016

The best selling mmorpg does it again.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 December 22, 2017

Addicting. There’s so much you can do in the game. You can level up in so many ways between questing and dungeoning. The graphics are beautiful. Not every character is going to be the same either (which I wish there was just a little bit more depth into customizing your toon). The world inside the game is huge. You can unlock so much in the game between mounts, battle pets, and being able to transmog the clothes your toon is wearing. Hours will go by without you realizing.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 February 12, 2017

Awesome!

Bought this discounted and the code worked perfectly. WoW Legion is truly a breath of fresh air if you're an old mmo veteran like me returning to the game after a few years. Jumping right in with character boost was great and has kept me hooked. The leveling experience can be a bit of a slog if you're starting from scratch as you move through each expansion. It entails a lot of jumping around as Blizzard has sped up the process of gaining levels. This is only a problem if you want to stick around for the story since you'll be overpowered by the end of each zone. Overall, WoW still brings out the kid in me 10 years later and keeps up the thrill.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 October 13, 2016

I'm loving this new expansion. The flexible questing means you can choose where and when to level, even leveling in multiple zones with people who are different levels just fine.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 April 17, 2017

It's pretty cool I guess

Basically your typical WoW expansion. New continent, new class, 10 levels, new instances, some new stuff added and some old stuff removed. More of the same grinding for upgrades and but no more garrison stuff. Instead they've added class halls; an instanced area where you are surrounded by people from your own class with lots of stuff to do. Also Dalaran is back as the new hub city.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 September 5, 2016

World of Warcraft newest expansion has overhauled a lot of old elements that were common in WoW. With the addition of Class Halls,Artifact Weapons, and the new Broken Isle zones fun has returned to the game. Many complained from the lack of content in the past expansion, but from what Blizzard has promised it's consumers we won't experience any content droughts. Blizzard came in hard with this expansion and are definitely keeping up their promise. Overall if you're still on the fence on whether or not to come back to WoW, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 November 9, 2010

BARGAIN!

It is an absolute genuine bargain not to order this game card. 1 month subscription is usually £8.99 and that requires given bank card details to a company you may not yet trust, this is a great method to buy a cheap game card from a trusted site (Zavvi.com) and enjoy 60 daysof gameplay. Highly Reccomended!

  • Share


3.5.00/5.00 December 2, 2013

Colin's review of World Of Warcraft 60 Day Timecard (PC)

Pros: Quick easy way to add time to new accounts. When needing to get recruit a friend mounts etc

  • Share


5.00/5.00 May 16, 2013

Simon's review of World Of Warcraft 60 Day Timecard (PC)

Pros: Competitive price compared to other outlets - will always buy my 60 day wow time cards from pc as long as they keep that competitiveness.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 January 9, 2013

James's review of World Of Warcraft 60 Day Timecard (PC)

Pros: Great way to purchase gametime without having to put your card details online.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 October 11, 2016

WoW

Best price

  • Share


5.00/5.00 November 24, 2018

gamecard is always good

well what can you say about a wow game card ....

  • Share


5.00/5.00 May 21, 2017

Handy for gift or game time

Very useful if you no longer want to think about game time or want it to be automatically debited.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 April 24, 2020

That's how it is. Nothing special

  • Share


5.00/5.00 October 26, 2019

Yes

tees good quality and good price

  • Share


5.00/5.00 January 29, 2017

to recommend

like last time it went great again

  • Share


5.00/5.00 July 7, 2011

Truly Epic Expansion

Since the Cataclysm Event in-game, I was content for a while to simply revisit the Classic world and appreciate the redesign that had accompanied its shattering. The zones flow much more seamlessly, and tells a much more powerful story.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 September 5, 2020

Wonderful, just wonderful :-D Couldn't be happier! :-D

It arrived on time, safe and sound! :-) and I am super happy with everything the artwork in the book is just wonderful and the little cardpack was a nice little easter egg wich I did not expect, lol :P A pleasure doing buisness with you :-D

  • Share


4.00/5.00 June 7, 2012

A spectacular addition for fans of the latest World of Warcraft expansion.

I purchased the Collector's Edition well after the release of the original game (I had ordered a digital download originally), but after playing through every aspect of this expansion, I decided the Collector's Edition would be a valuable addition to my collection. Within this well-designed dust cover (the "damage" around the cover very well represents the status of Azeroth) is a treasure trove of goodies. The box is very stable to prevent shifting during shipping, so every item arrives in absolutely mint condition. When you first open box, you are met with the art book, which contains works from some of the best WoW artists. The paper is glossy and the color extremely rich, although sometimes I wish there was more. Nonetheless, it is worth having if you are a WoW fan. Below that is a mousepad which has the main antagonist of this expansion - Deathwing. This is a simple quality pad with no extra frills, but the addition of a primary character makes it definitely worth having. While the Collector's edition itself does not contain additional zones or benefits from the normal purchase, it does contain a "Lil'" version (that is to say, a very small version) of Deathwing. Frankly, this pet is extremely cute, and he now accompanies my main character as he clears the most recent raids. The behind-the-scenes footage is very similar to previous expansions, and contains interviews, TV spots, and much more. The main reason for my purchase was to obtain the soundtrack contained with the Collector's Edition - and I was glad I did. Very few people really listen to the background music, and it's rather sad since the production value is amazing. Full orchestral arrangements of key scenes and popular songs. It is currently sitting in my CD player playing on repeat. While I do not play the TCG game, I did give the included deck to a good friend, who commented that the deck is "well put together." Overall, anybody who is a fan of the World of Warcraft series will be pleased with this Collector's Edition and its' contents. A definite purchase before they become hard to come by.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 January 16, 2011

World of Warcraft gets a new shiny layer of TLC paint!

If you are a World of Warcraft player, chances are you've already bought this expansion and are happily leveling your way through the myriad of new content created by the juggernauts of the MMO genre, Blizzard.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 October 25, 2010

Blizzard Does It Again!

Six years since the launch of the MMO that rocked the foundations of gaming and Blizzard's World of Warcraft shows no signs of slowing down, having just recently passed the 12 million mark in active subscribers. With this newest expansion set, Cataclysm, Blizzard hits the mark in bringing its rabid fan base a host new content to devour while also giving fans a bit of the old, as well.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 January 30, 2011

Cataclysm; Changes for the Better

The latest installation of Blizzard's long standing MMO World of Warcraft brings several changes to the board, essentially reworking much of the original game and adding yet more new content and five more levels.

  • Share


4.00/5.00 December 22, 2010

Everything has changed

I started with WoW during Burning Crusade, so my comments will be flavored accordingly.

  • Share


1.00/5.00 April 13, 2011

Really bad

WoW Cataclysm is perhaps the worst video game I have ever purchased. It has a few good points, but essentially no quality control and a design that is best characterized by the word slipshod. My opinions on this subject seem to be shared by many, as the number of players on-line on my server gets smaller and smaller every day.

  • Share


3.00/5.00 November 29, 2010

Some Important Distinctions

I hear a lot of people talking about the "new world changes as a feature exclusive to cataclysm.

  • Share


5.00/5.00 November 26, 2011

There is no such thing as "quitting WoW"

I had stopped playing this MMORPG as I grew tired of the same old thing so when I heard of the expansion I was a little sceptical at first not really knowing how they could really make WoW more entertaining.

  • Share


Featured

Amplitude

PS4 Digital Download: Amplitude features a single player campaign presented as a 15-song sci-fi concept album with a narrative ...

5/5.00 - based on 13 reviews Read more

1 Moment Of Time: Silentville

This is the story of Silentville - a town with no future, no past and no present. A town lost to forever - unless someone can ...

4.5/5.00 - based on 553 reviews Read more

Football Manager 2020 Touch

In Football Manager 2019 YOU are the author of your club’s success: you define the tactics and style of play, and drive player ...

4/5.00 - based on 93 reviews Read more

The Moon Night

Deliver Us The Moon is a Sci-Fi thriller set in an apocalyptic near-future where Earth's natural resources are depleted. In an ...

4/5.00 - based on 17 reviews Read more

Spiritfarer

-Carry your stuff, express yourself, it’s win-win -Internal laptop pocket, external mesh pocket, and adjustable padded straps ...

4.5/5.00 - based on 54 reviews Read more

V-Rally 4

The return of a legendary off-road racing game! Enjoy an extreme experience while becoming an expert in a demanding simulation ...

4/5.00 - based on 11 reviews Read more

Cat Quest II

Go on the ultimutt catventure today! CAT QUEST II is a 2D open-world action-RPG set in a fantasy realm of cats and dogs. Under ...

5/5.00 - based on 25 reviews Read more
5/5.00 - based on 33 reviews Read more

Age of Conquest IV

Age of Conquest III is a medieval Risk-like turn-based strategy game where you take the reins of a budding empire and struggle ...

3.5/5.00 - based on 24 reviews Read more

Coloring Game

(Grades 2-6) Meet Jasper! A young boy who is totally absorbed with playing video games… “With my game controller in my hands ...

4.5/5.00 - based on 23 reviews Read more

Reviews and analysis of World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth

Azeroth paid a terrible price to end the apocalyptic march of the Legion's crusade - but even as the world's wounds are tended ...